love is all there is...

How to Escape
1:22 p.m. || 2003-08-13
Small update, not much to comment on. I will describe my prague trip more in detail at a later time, and I have some cool handwritten entries from Italy that I will post in here when I get home (17 days!).

The heat still hasn't broken, but I am managing, though I have to leave my windows open at night and therefore have become a feasting ground for mosquitos :) I haven't been sleeping well, but I have been eating almost normally (1000 to 1200 calories/day yikes). I kinda have to since my uncle said something really freaky and made me think he knows about my um issues. I was mentioning all the skeletal people I saw in Czech, and he said, well that's what you get when you are bulimic. I said .. What?? He said, well thats what you get, skeletal and a heart attack, when you are bulimic. I managed a blank look and said, what are you talking about. So I am forcing myself to eat normally as possible til I leave here, then I will resume my weightloss efforts. I did end up puking last night, but I didn't force it. I got so sick and I couldn't stop it. It was awful. Maybe I have a flu... Dunno..

Anyway, here is that poem I promised but never put up :) Enjoy!


How to Escape



In a moment

it's lost

In naught but a breath

it's lost...

a self, an idea, a wish

or two.

Its in the summer,

haze and heat,

flickering between heart beats

that you begin to see it;

yourself as you might be.

Dusty and sun blistered,

a snapdragon tucked behind your

ear,

perfect summer afternoon-

you paused,

just there under the

heat shimmered palm trees,

a hairy coconut in hand,

white straw poised

against dry summer

chapped lips...

you took a breath

and saw yourself

outside yourself...

under the glare of the

wicked hot sun...

painted feet burrowed into sand.

But as you exhaled

sipped your coconut

drink...

suddenly, you realized,



it wasn't you.



A moment ago,

you swore

it could've been you,

washed in jasmine and glow and laughter.



Why did you remember

to breathe?

<<< || >>>