love is all there is...

golden rules days
9:16 p.m. || 2005-09-01
Classes finally started. I am super busy. My God, what have I gotten myself into! And oh, the prices of gas are awful for someone as broke as I am. And, last but not least, I actually ate quite a bit today but, for the first time, while on my way to purge, I stopped. I thought, what am I doing. I thought, No. NO. And then I thought, I will talk to Tom. I peed, looked at the sore on the corner of my mouth (a result of a hand fervently shoved down a throat far too often, splitting the skin), the sores on my hands (a gift from scraping teeth), then I took one last look at the toilet and left. So here I am, to talk to you, dear anonymous reader, deary diary, dear world. And, alas, I shall survive.

My classes are lovely, mostly. I have two of my favorite professors again, for story writing and Renaissance literature. Those two classes are the ones I like the most. The story class is all daydreaming, imagining, pretending. Full of surprises and escape, I can barely wait til next we meet. The other, the literature course, is taught by the most fascinating, brilliant Literature professor I have ever had. We do not really interpret (not in the traditional manner at any rate), but we contemplate... the authors themselves, those authors' world, and the characters (in the fiction pieces). We discuss the characters as if they were real, argue the ideologies of times past (and of characters) in comparison with today's world, speculate on the beauty of language, the secrets and meanings behind particular lines (and not the kind of statements most would look at, not the typical boring interpretation that puts one to Zzz's), argue and laugh an awful lot.. all that mixed with real and fictional history. It's most unlike any literature class to which I've ever been subjected (aside from my Myths of Greece and Rome course, with the same professor, last semester).

As for my other three classes, they are most unremarkable. One, my Teaching Writing class, is mostly reading so far. We did talk a little about rhetoric and teaching, but this class won't meet as often as others. On some days I will have to go to a freshman writing class and assist students with peer editing. The teacher I have been assigned to wanted me to do some presentation, but I am not an Educ. major, so I am not sure if I will choose do such or not.
Then there is my Science class. Though markedly more interesting than the previous class, it is still not in the same caliber (so far) as my story and literature courses. I must admit, however, that my professor (a chemist) is quite crazy and very funny. I believe I shall enjoy this science course, as he realizes that we liberal arts majors are never likely to need science aside from what we will need in order to understand the world around us, to help us make decisions, and to engage in intellectual conversation with any scientists we should chance upon. Lastly, Math. Well, it has been termed "Quantitative Reasoning" but really, its a bunch of craptacular, boring math that makes me feel quite stupid. Nevertheless, the methodology behind the different ways of tallying votes is quite easy to comprehend (even for me), despite the fact that my ability to calculate any sum of numbers instantly is very lacking. Given a few moments to work something out, I can do it. However, I tend to get numbers jumbled when trying to add from columns on a board. Too many columns... it is a bit like reading the wrong paragraph in a book. Ah well, at least I know I understand the math, regardless of what an ass I might make of myself in the classroom. No doubt, as an English Writing major, learning the different ways to tally votes shall come in terribly handy.

So that sums up my courses for the semester.

Oh, yes, my new work study. I love it. I did have to do some boring shredding, but I also got to read through some intriguingly ancient files from old professors and such while cleaning out drawers. I also picked up some new books for writing while cleaning up shelves. There is still much to do in our little nook, to make the room more friendly and welcoming and orderly, but it is not a terrible job.

That is all I have for now. I will reflect more on what I love and hate about my classes as the semester progresses, as one never knows what she will end up thinking about this or that subject. It is, after all, just the beginning of the year.



<<< || >>>