love is all there is...

Gingerbread Castle
4:19 p.m. || 2002-10-30
I attempt a tiptoe atop a crown of fresh fallen snow, the scent of clean... Crisp and fresh and overpowering, lending to the eve a sense of new. Glycerin dew drops dance and scream. Ear plugs please, I beg and stuff tissue up my nose. Thin ice ruptures� Let me be... let me be.

So midnight comes and here I stand, in my winter wonderland alone and wild and bursting with glee, a woodland garland tied around my head and I pretend I am a faerie princess yet my prince is dead.

I shrug off the bitter shiver that tingles down my spine as the arctic permeates my skin, swathed in warm apple cider which trickles and freezes like icicles upon my breast. I break a piece off and lick it like a lollipop.

Tender winter how I love thee, more deeply than any other flavor. I sing an ode to inimitable snowflakes and cherry cheeks, autumn hued tresses and skin soaked in pristine creams. I trudge into the deepest drift and dig myself a little grotto. Here I keep mum and fritter away. Harsh winter bury me...

Bury me alive. So off into a forever nap I plunge...

I sigh and stare at the fucking Christmas tree, and when by mistake I glace atop the intrusive beast, I see my soul set upon it like a strange seraph. To be free, I reflect, and the glow of the sporadic illumination is vexing to me, and I crawl up the steps panting and pray�

Pray for the instance that the drifts fall deep enough and the gist sifts away...

Salubrious sparkling winter, pungent and icy,

wrap me up in your fervor. Disappear me.

That is all I want for Christmas, I think.

As the nighttime wears on to early morn I finally nod into a barely sleep and there, under the Christmas tree, Santa Claus brings to me...

An enchanted stick of forestry splendor and an igloo just for me. And matches to burn the Christmas tree.



<<< || >>>