love is all there is...

Bits and Pieces
11:02 a.m. || 2003-08-20
*yawns and stretches* ... Good morning world. I have been sleeping so well lately, like 12 hours per night. I am still only half awake at the moment, so bear with me.

Yesterday my aunt and I went swimming at Kaiser Therme, which I love. It was a blast. Then we went to the Seidl Confiserie which is like a confection/chocolate factory. I had to pick up some goodies for my trip home... I promised some people I would bring them some chocolate from Germany. I am thinking of having a writing contest and giving some away also...

The heat is gone, finally, and it has been raining (thank god!). I never did tell you about my trip to Prague, so I guess I will go ahead and do that.

Prague was very interesting (yes, I am vague). Most of the natives had a gaunt look about them, especially the girls. The streets were dusty, hot, lined with beautiful old buildings in perfect condition, with skeletal women everywhere, and it was utterly packed with tourists.My aunt and I took a bus down from the army base and then went on a city tour for 2 hours. We saw an ancient opera house (but didnt go inside), and there was an entrancing clock near the end of the tour which was sort of like a giant cuckoo clock in that every hour little sculptured men would take turns peeking out the top of the clock. I believe the men were saints. The square around the clock was so full of tourists that we could barely move! We finished up the tour on the Charles bridge (which is like 600 years old, and the spiritual center of Prague), where I perused the work of the artists set up along the bridge, until I found a unique chocolate tinted photograph as reminder of my trip. The view from the bridge was spectacular, and I could see all the way down the river, which was teeming with boats of every shape and size. I hated to end this part of the trip just yet, so I lingered for some time, gazing over the river, letting the cool breezes dry the sweat on my forehead and scalp and under my thin skirts and shirt. The bridge was also packed with people, and in the heat, I got very faint and eventually decided I needed some shade and a cool drink... By that time it was after 12, and I couldn't find my aunt, so I strolled up and down the bridge watching people laugh and talk and smoke and shop, hoping I wouldn't pass out in the middle of this hoarde.

Finally I found her (after crossing the bridge 3 times) and we went to eat and cool off in the shade of a restaurant. I picked a Czech restaurant with a vegetarian menu, and ordered something completely off the wall(for me anyway)-chickpea and spinach salad. It turned out to be not very good (not enough spinach in it, or it would have been delicious), and I didn't eat much of it, but I had also ordered a small bit of fries and some bell peppers and cauliflower with guacamole, so I ate some of that instead, along with a few bites of dark, seed covered bread. My aunt had an interesting plate of chicken and some pasta with sauce, which was good she said, but the potatoes (which were labeled *creamed* and were spicey, gooey with sauce, and definately not creamed) she didn't like.

After that we went shopping. I found a lovely dress that was marked down from 50 dollars to 10 dollars (well, 150 in Czech money.. their money is insane!). It is floaty and crinkled, and earthen colored (chocolate, bronze, and midnight blue hints sort of mingle throughout) with a touch of copper lace and falls just above my knees. It made me feel very feminine, just looking at it, so I went ahead and bought it. After that we looked everywhere for cheap crystal but couldn't find any, and so we settled in to bickering over prices in the cramped quarters of an oriental flea market near the bus, where I purchased a pair of groovy swap meet priced sneakers that are a sort of tan color and close with these weird elastic dangly things.. they look sort of like clog shoes...

The day drew to an end around 5 pm, and we all got back on the bus... everyone was hot and grumpy and tired. Most of us had only had a few hours sleep (as we had gotten up at 4:30 am) and were ready to get home and get some rest. Thankfully the bus was air conditioned. I read my Glamour most of the way back, as I couldn't sleep on the bus. We arrived back in Germany at the base at about 10pm.

So that was Prague. I would like to go back sometime and see one of the marionette shows, but we didn't have time as it was just a one day tour bus trip.

As for today, well, nothing interesting is planned for me. I think I will just relax, watch Solaris, and bide my time til I am back at home with my cat.



<<< || >>>