love is all there is...

summer highlights
7:23 p.m. || 2005-08-18
Wow, long time no see eh. Well, it's about time for school again. I've had a crazy, hectic summer with not much rest. I have done some fun things though.

For example, Tom's parents got me a cruise in New York City for my birthday which was lovely. I loved the packed, dirty streets and bright lights of the city itself, and the cruise was very relaxing. I felt almost like royalty. The staff even created my own omelet for me as I stood waiting.

I had a lovely birthday all around in fact. Tom baked me red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese icing (my favorite), and we watched Phantom of the Opera (given me by his sister) over lobster served with.. yes... tater tots! His parents came over and brought me Bare Minerals, which I really wanted, and Anthony got me an MP3 player. I also got a new cell phone, which I needed badly. Claire spoiled me with pretty gemmed hair clips and jewelry, and mom gave me a gold chain with a ruby on it to match an antique ring she gave me once before. I was truely spoiled this year. Best birthday ever. I felt like I was floating.

My mother visited, which was ok. We didn't fight or anything. I wanted to take her to see sights, but it was raining in Philly when we picked her up, and we missed seeing the liberty bell as we stayed indoors due to the rain. I took her and Tom out to dinner as well, but Tom didn't like the food (mexican) and that made me feel bad.

I've been slaving away at the bookshop and reading a heck of a lot. Currently I am reading Pledged, A Relative Stranger, and also working on a trilogy called The Troy Game (on the third book now). I just finished Go Ask Alice, which was excellent, as well as Perfect, and Insatiable (all in the same week!)

The other fun thing I did this summer was teach. The first class was in May, a one day workshop for Junior High students which went ok. The second was a week long, for High schoolers. I had so much fun teaching the second class that I plan to now go on to get my Masters to teach. I still want to write, but I did like teaching creative writing very much.

I haven't gotten much writing done, sadly, but that is ok. I will write plenty this year, I am sure. My schedule is packed, with my Teaching Writing class, Short Story Writing, Renaissance Literature, Natural Science, and Quantitative Reasoning. Add to that my new work study job in the English Department, and the bookstore for 5 hours on Saturdays, and I am going to be one busy girl!

I am keeping Sundays free to catch up.


Tom made me coffee this morning, and left me a cute note. He's so sweet. I don't deserve him I swear.

I've been on an excellent diet, and am down to 111 currently, just in time for school.

And lastly, I've got a really cheap laptop on the way to me so I can type in privacy in my room if I want. It is a very basic, probably slightly slow, computer, but its small and portable which is what I need for writing. Sometimes its such a bother to have to sit at this desk in the midst of my roomates in order to get things done. I get too distracted.

I'm so excited about it. I can't wait for it to get here. I haven't had any spare money at all lately, so it was nice to have a spare 50 for this.

Although, since I have some back teeth breaking, I really need to save any spare money. I couldn't resist though. I must write, and I must have more privacy to do it.

Anyway, not much else to talk about at the moment, but I want to pick my journaling back up. I've been neglecting it badly.

<3
Jo



<<< || >>>